Hello hello!

I have been meaning to pen an update about my squishy future-moths for awhile now, but alas, a busy few weeks has had me preoccupied!

I can finally rejoice!  Almost all of my freeloading miscreant children have performed their unique magic and turned into silky brown pupae.  Finally, I can stop making daily treks out to my sassafras tree, which is wonderful because I’m rather short…and at this point I’ve removed all of the easy to reach branches.  My most recent trips for worm fodder have involved attempting ridiculously high jumps and perching precariously on buckets, praying I don’t go crashing to the ground.  I mean, maybe I should have told the neighbors to set up a camera, probably a million dollar Funniest Home Videos win somewhere in a leaf gathering mishap…

 

cocoon

The transformation pod!

 

Although!  Like a preschooler bringing home a turtle that mom gets stuck taking care of, somehow my caterpillars enticed a friend into their lair, probably a stowaway on their leafy lunch.  I haven’t had a chance to ID it yet, but a random caterpillar showed up with the rest one day, looks like some sort of butterfly to me.  Sooo….just when I thought I was done with cage cleaning and leaf stealing, nope! A few more weeks added on to my sentence……kids!!!

 

Interloper

The new adoptee!

 

In other news,  I’ve been walking like a fiend, and it is such a nice break from my busy life.  Even if I have time to just sneak in a quick stroll, I usually see something interesting, it keeps me grounded and connected to what I am passionate about.  Recent walk sightings include:

 

varigated fritillary

Variegated Fritillary Caterpillar

 

 

 

Garter Snake

Snake!

 

Here in Pennsylvania, weather is slowly improving! Each day I can feel summer slowly releasing it’s grip on the land, breezy days and warm colors of fall are just around the corner.  I so enjoy fall, it is such a temperate time of the year…!